Wednesday 02 November 2016

Iranian Parliament Approves Three New Rohani Cabinet Ministers

Iranian lawmakers on November 1 approved three new ministers, signaling support for changes in the cabinet of President Hassan Rohani seven months before a presidential election.

State media reported that Reza Salehi Amiri, Saeed Soltanifar, and Fakhredin Ahmadi Danesh-Ashtiani won votes of confidence to take over the ministries of Islamic guidance and culture, sport and youth affairs, and education.

Their predecessors resigned after Rohani criticized them for inefficiency and succumbing to pressures from outside the government.

Rohani allies won big gains in parliamentary elections in February, short of an outright majority but comfortable enough to pass his legislative plans.

Rohani is expected to stand for reelection next year but may face a challenge from conservative rivals who believe Iran has conceded too much in a deal with world powers to limit its nuclear program, while failing to benefit as promised from a lifting of international sanctions.


© copyright 2004 - 2021 All Rights Reserved

Cookies on IranPressNews website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from Google and third party social media websites if you visit a page which contains embedded content from social media. Such third party cookies may track your use of our website. We and our partners also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.